2010 Irish Evolution Challenge

Posted: November 5, 2010 11:40 PM - 5859 Hits

Change of prize for Evolution Challenge winners

Posted: November 5, 2010 11:36 PM

Mitsubishi Ralliart Evolution Challenge organisers have announced that the scheduled trip to the FxPro Cyprus Rally for this year’s winners in the UK, Ireland and Sweden will not take place. Instead, due to difficulties for each of the three champion drivers to attend the event, they will now receive a prize package in lieu of their supported entry in the final round of the IRC (Intercontinental Rally Challenge).

In order to reward the winners in all three countries with a comparable prize, at the beginning of the year it was arranged that each would receive a free entry, fuel, tyres and a sizeable contribution to expenses, to contest the Cyprus event. In addition to this, the first home would be crowned European Evolution Challenge Champion.

However, as the rally’s November date got closer, it became apparent that all three drivers had issues that would make it difficult for them to attend the rally: UK winner Jonny Greer was committed to Rally Scotland and his team the Rally GB, Ireland winner Brendan Cumiskey was under pressure because of business commitments and trying to get his car repaired following the last round of the series and Sweden winner Jimmy Joge is in the throws of selling his car.

“Obviously it’s disappointing that we won’t be going to Cyprus, but at the end of the day we have to award a prize that suits our competitors”, said series coordinator Simon Slade. “Having spoken to each of them I understand the reasons why they can’t make it and therefore, we are offering them a package which can be put towards an event of their choosing.”

Series organisers have confirmed that the new package comprises fuel, tyres and prize money, plus a number of other awards dependent on the contributions from supporting partners in each country. It has also been confirmed that the awarding of the European Evolution Challenge title will now not take place, although bringing all three champion drivers together at another event in the future is currently under consideration.

“We would like to thank the organisers of the Cyprus Rally for their cooperation and understanding”, said Slade. “Right from the start they were supportive of what we were trying to do and they’ve been extremely helpful every step of the way. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank all our sponsors, who have enabled us to continue to run the series’ and offer a valuable prize fund.”

Slade has indicated that plans for the Evolution Challenge in 2011 will be announced in November.

The 2010 Mitsubishi Ralliart Evolution Challenge Ireland is supported by: Mitsubishi Motors, Pirelli tyres, Sunoco fuels, JRM, Cyprus Automobile Association, Fairways Mitsubishi, Donnelly Group, James Foley Rallysport, Speedline Corse wheels, Murray Motorsport, CL brake pads, Sparco racewear, Pacenotes and PIAA lights - who sponsor the junior award for under 25-year old drivers.

Championship Points after Final Round

Posted: April 15, 2010 11:10 AM

1 Brendan Cumiskey 64
2 Sam Moffett 62
3 Neil McCance 44
4 Geoff McMahon 22
5 John McGlaughlin 17
6 Stanley Ballantine 15
7 Willie Mavitty 5

1 James O'Reilly 62
2 Conor Foley 62
3 Jonny Hart 24
4 Rob Graham 22
5 Sean Ferris 20
6 Crawford Henderson 17
7 Donnacha O'Callaghan 15
8 Brian Daniels 5

Mitsubishi Ralliart Evolution Challenge announces details of first prize

Posted: March 21, 2010 9:45 PM

Having announced earlier this year that the winning driver in each of the three countries where the Mitsubishi Ralliart Evolution Challenge takes place: United Kingdom, Ireland and Sweden, will win a supported drive in an international rally, series organisers are delighted to confirm that the nominated event will be the 2010 FxPro Cyprus Rally.

The prize will provide all three winners with a free entry, plus tyres and fuel, together with at least €1000 towards expenses. Logistical support has also been offered from the local importer for the brand, Fairways Mitsubishi.

“The Cyprus Automobile Association and Fairways Mitsubishi were really intrigued with our plans for this year’s prize and are very excited about getting our three winners over there”, said series coordinator Simon Slade. “Added to this, two of our key partners in the Evolution Challenge - Pirelli and Sunoco - have also pledged their support by supplying product, all of which goes towards making this a truly valuable package.”

Slade also hopes that between now and the event itself, which takes place on 4-6 November, further benefits can be added for the three fortunate crews, such as discounted accommodation, flights and ferries.

The event, which is the final round of this year’s IRC (Intercontinental Rally Challenge), will see all three winners go head-to-head and battle to become European Evolution Challenge Champion, the first time that this title has ever been bestowed since the series began in 2001.

The 2010 Mitsubishi Ralliart Evolution Challenge UK runs in association with the Dulux Trade MSA British Rally Championship and is supported by: Pirelli tyres, Sunoco fuels, JRM, Cyprus Automobile Association, Fairways Mitsubishi Speedline Corse wheels, Murray Motorsport, CL brake pads, PIAA lights, Sparco racewear and Mitsubishi Motors UK.

Championship Rounds

Posted: January 1, 2010 12:45 AM

    Rounds 1 & 2 Circuit of Ireland Rally 3/4 Apr
    Round 3 Carlow 9 May
    Round 4 Mourne Rally 5 Jun
    Round 5 ALMC 18 Jul
    Round 6 Rally Northern Ireland 20/21 August
    Rounds 7 & 8 Dick Bailey Stages 11/12 September

Twitter Feed